Relinquish control of your Bell Fibe router.

For the last few years, I have been hooked to the Internet with many different companies. No matter who the provider was, I found that the package provided lacked in flexibility and completeness. Only some of my needs were covered by what was offered by ISPs. These technologies are targeted toward mainstream people… maybe not toward IT/Telecom/Security enthusiasts.

So during this time, I tried to work with what was given to me, feeling unsatisfied. I hooked up 3 home routers behind my ISP’s router/modem to get a LAN  / DMZ / VPN (IN and OUT) environment. So complicated… even with OpenWRT/DDWRT and such, it’s just not reliable… it reboots when on heavy load, drops packets whenever possible.

Also, as a security conscious person (a.k.a. freak), I was quite amazed to discover that many ISPs keep open doors to their equipment, just in case they have to manage it sometimes. Plus, some routers don’t even let you  controle their WAN. You can’t close important ports (TCP/23 for instance), nor change password. You become slave to the ISP, vulnerable on the Internet… that’s not for me.

I could complain all night about ISPs not taking care of their client’s security… but that’s not the point. Let’s just relinquish control of our router.

Here is what I did to get rid of Bell Fibe SAGEMCOM PACKF@ST router:

WAN:

The router uses PPPoE to connect to the Internet and not much technical information is available through the Connection Hub.

After a lot of unsuccessful trial and error trying to configure the pppoe connection, I took a network TAP and peeked at the PPPoE conversation on the line.

Here is what I’ve got:

All PPPoE communications had to be made on VLAN-ID 35… it was on the line, I should have known.

If you want to configure your router as I did,  here is a sample vyatta configuration:

ethernet eth0 {
    duplex auto
    description SAGECOM Router WAN
    hw-id 00:00:00:00:00:00
    smp_affinity auto
    speed auto
    vif 35 {
        address dhcp
        pppoe 0 {
            password <your-bell-password>
            user-id <your-bell-username>
        }
    }
}

In no time your PPPOE will be up and running. You'll be in full control of your internet connection.
